Kids’ Resources


Encyclopedia Britannica Online

You will need your Farmington library card number in order to login to this resource.


TumbleBookLibrary is an online collection of TumbleBooks animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they’ll love. TumbleBooks are created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books in order to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you.

KidSpeak – Transparent Languages

Transparent Language Online offers a comprehensive language-learning solution. KidSpeak is included with all subscriptions to Transparent Language Online for Libraries and available for learning Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish.

Award-Winning and Nominated Children’s Books

Check out the following sites for books that have won or been nominated for these prestigious awards:

Nutmeg Children’s Book Award

Each year a committee of Connecticut children’s librarians nominates ten books in the categories of Elementary, Intermediate, Teen, and High School, and children in grades 2-12 are encouraged to read them and vote for their favorite – a book award chosen by kids!

John Newbery Medal 

This award is given each year to the most distinguished children’s work published in the previous year by the American Library Association.

Caldecott Medal 

This medal is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Coretta Scott King Book Award 

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.

Pura Belpré Medal 

The Belpré Award is presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

Batchelder Award 

The Batchelder Award is given to the most outstanding children’s book originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States, and subsequently translated into English for publication in the United States.

Robert F. Sibert Medal 

The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal is awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published in the United States in English during the preceding year.

The Wilder Award 

The Wilder Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

Odyssey Awards 

This annual award is given to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States.

Schneider Family Award 

The Schneider Family Book Awards honor an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.

Geisel Award 

The Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.

Association of Jewish Libraries Children’s Book Awards 

AJL’s awards draw attention to the best in Jewish literature and scholarship each year, encouraging publication and purchase of high-quality Jewish writing.

American Indian Youth Literature Award 

The awards were established as a way to identify and honor the very best writing and illustrations by and about American Indians. Books selected to receive the award will present American Indians in the fullness of their humanity in the present and past contexts.

Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature 

The goal of the award is to honor and recognize individual work about Asian/Pacific Americans and their heritage, based on literary and artistic merit.

Additional American Library Association Book, Print, & Media Awards can be found here.