Our Mission

The Farmington Libraries partner with the community to provide free access to services, experiences, and resources that offer opportunities to explore, create, and share ideas.

Our Vision

To build on our proud reputation as a vibrant, energetic and stimulating center of intellectual and social activity by:

  • Attracting, retaining and developing a library staff offering friendly, competent, accurate and expedient customer service.
  • Incorporating new and emerging information technologies enabling access to information locally and globally.
  • Shaping a collection in myriad formats, actual and virtual, which is broad, deep, and rich in quality to meet the needs and expectations of an increasingly diverse community.
  • Kindling the pleasures of reading and learning in young children and enhancing the lives of all library patrons through excellent service and unique library experiences.
  • Providing inviting, comfortable, flexible spaces in which visitors of all ages can enjoy and be inspired by an array of educational, cultural, and recreational experiences.
  • Nurturing community by providing spaces to meet, greet, discuss and debate.
  • Enhancing library services through a combination of stable support from the Town of Farmington and endowment support from the Farmington Village Green and Library Association.
  • Preserving the memories and history of Farmington and the surrounding towns and providing access to those memories both in print and digital media.

Approved by the Farmington Library Committee, Wednesday, June 21, 2006

Holiday Closings 2021

Friday, January 1
New Year’s Day

Monday, January 18
Martin Luther King Day

Sunday, February 14

Monday, February 15
President’s Day

Friday, April 2 
Good Friday

Saturday, May 29

Monday, May 31
Memorial Day

Sunday, July 4
Independence Day

Monday, July 5

Saturday, September 4

Monday, September 6
Labor Day

Monday, October 11
Columbus Day

Wednesday, November 24
close at 1pm

Thursday, November 25
Thanksgiving Day

Friday, November 26

Friday, December 24
Christmas Eve close at 1pm

Saturday, December 25
Christmas Day

Friday, December 31
close at 3pm

Saturday, January 1, 2022
New Year’s Day

Follow Us

Hours & Directions

Main Library

6 Monteith Drive

Mon, Tue, Thu, Fri  9:30 AM – 2:00 PM
Wed  2:30 PM – 7:00 PM
Sat  9:30 AM – 1:00 PM
Sun (January – March)  CLOSED

Barney Library

71 Main Street

Mon, Tue, Thu,  9:30 AM – 2:00 PM
Wed  2:30 PM – 7:00 PM
Fri  CLOSED
Sat  9:30 AM – 1:00 PM